Zombies, Vampires, and Technology Oh My

Chuck Klosterman was at Lenoir Rhyne November 12th in P.E. Monroe for the visiting writer’s series and November 13th for a question and answer session. I was unable to attend both events. Though I did not attend either events, I did have the opportunity to read an article he wrote and visit his website. The article by Chuck Klosterman, My Zombie, Myself: Why Modern Life Feels Rather Undead is about zombies, vampires, and how both monsters tie into technology. The article also talks about how zombies are no longer as popular as they use to be and how the new vampire fad has taken over the undead.

Though the article is supposed to tie our fears of monsters into how, with the new age of technology, we have become zombie like, I personally had troubles seeing the ties. I am able to understand when Klosterman compares us and our technology uses to zombies “In other words, zombie killing is philosophically similar to reading and deleting 400 work e-mails on a Monday or filling out paperwork that only generates more paperwork” (Klosterman). I see our usage of technology being a mindless and zombie like aspect but I do not understand why Klosterman spoke about vampires. In the article he talks and goes into depth about vampires taking over the zombie world, and I just personally don’t see how the vampires have any ties into our technology usage. Even when I re-read the article in class with classmates I still struggled with Klosterman’s reasoning to talk about vampires.

Leave a comment